Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Living the City Symposium

October 15  @ 18:00 20:00 CEST

With Sep­a­ke Angia­ma, Elma van Box­el (ZUS-Zones Urbaines Sen­si­bles), Tia­go Mota Sarai­va (ate­lier­mob), Vik­to­ria Walldin (White Arkitek­ter) and more. Mod­er­at­ed by Lukas Feireiss and Tat­jana Schneider.

A sym­po­sium with archi­tec­ture and art pro­fes­sion­als, city plan­ners, polit­i­cal­ly active cit­i­zens, politi­cians, mem­bers of the media, philoso­phers, as well as researchers from the field deep­ens the dis­cus­sions sur­round­ing top­ics relat­ed to Euro­pean urban development.

Elma van Box­el and Kris­t­ian Kore­man are the found­ing part­ners of ZUS [Zones Urbaines Sen­si­bles]. ZUS devel­ops solicit­ed and unso­licit­ed design and research in archi­tec­ture, urban­ism, and land­scape. ZUS con­tributes to chang­ing urban land­scapes through its ded­i­ca­tion to architecture’s pub­lic role. Found­ed in 2001 the stu­dio con­sists of an inter­na­tion­al, twen­ty-five-strong, mul­ti­dis­ci­pli­nary team, with offices in Rot­ter­dam and New York City. ZUS has received numer­ous nation­al and inter­na­tion­al awards for their bound­ary-cross­ing work.
zus.cc

Tia­go Mota Sarai­va is an archi­tect and urban­ist with spe­cial­iza­tion in archi­tec­ture, ter­ri­to­ry and mem­o­ry. He’s man­ag­ing part­ner at ate­lier­mob, a mul­ti­dis­ci­pli­nary plat­form found­ed in 2005 in Lis­bon. Their work focus­es on devel­op­ing ideas, research, and projects in the areas of archi­tec­ture, land­scape, design, and urban­ism. In 2013, ate­lier­mob start­ed the pro­gram Work­ing with the 99% to col­lab­o­rate with those who do not have the means to pay for archi­tec­tur­al ser­vices. In addi­tion to co-design­ing ter­ri­to­ries, help­ing cre­ate asso­ci­a­tions, and fundrais­ing inter­ven­tions, ate­lier­mob devel­oped a coop­er­a­tive of the same name that inte­grates oth­er NGOs and neigh­bor­hood asso­ci­a­tions, but also advo­cates new leg­is­la­tion. .Work­ing with the 99% won the Future Cities Prize at the 13th Venice Archi­tec­ture Bien­nale, where ate­lier­mob curat­ed the Por­tuguese Pavil­ion. Through this plat­form, they main­tain a reg­u­lar pres­ence in var­i­ous forums and nation­al and inter­na­tion­al net­works.
ateliermob.com

Sep­a­ke Angia­ma is the artis­tic direc­tor of the insti­tute for inter­na­tion­al visu­al art (ini­va) in Lon­don. The insti­tu­tion hosts the Stu­art Hall Library and is ded­i­cat­ed to sup­port­ing the prax­is of think­ing through and work­ing with the com­plex­i­ty of the hid­den and vis­i­ble entan­gled his­to­ries, ped­a­go­gies and geo­gra­phies of con­tem­po­rary African, Afro-Caribbean, Asian dias­po­ra and Indige­nous prac­tices. The pro­gramme reflects artists who take up of the social and polit­i­cal ontolo­gies, epis­te­molo­gies, ped­a­go­gies and sub­al­tern nar­ra­tives. Angiama’s prax­is stems from rad­i­cal ped­a­go­gies, black fem­i­nist thought, rethink­ing human/non-human rela­tion and roots itself in how we might imag­ine and inhab­it the world oth­er­wise. Pre­vi­ous­ly she was the co-cura­tor for the third edi­tion of Chica­go Archi­tec­ture Bien­ni­al, Head of Edu­ca­tion at doc­u­men­ta 14 and Man­i­fes­ta Euro­pean Bien­ni­al of Inter­na­tion­al Art. She is the ini­tia­tor of Under the Man­go Tree a self-organ­ised gath­er­ing of unlearn­ing prac­tices, next edi­tion will take place in Puer­to Rico in 2022.

Vik­to­ria Walldin is a Stock­holm-based anthro­pol­o­gist and expert on social sus­tain­abil­i­ty at White Arkitek­ter, an inter­dis­ci­pli­nary archi­tec­tur­al firm found­ed in Gothen­burg in 1951by archi­tect Sid­ney White. She works with one of the most com­plex and fas­ci­nat­ing archi­tec­tur­al assign­ments: mov­ing the Arc­tic city of Kiruna, Sweden’s north­ern­most town. The 20,000 inhab­i­tants are being forced to relo­cate to new land after min­ing caused mas­sive cracks in the ground on which the city is built. For her, the Kiruna move is a chance to be part of one of the bold­est, most rad­i­cal urban projects of this century.

whitearkitekter.com

Elma van Boxel
Tia­go Mota Saraiva
Sep­a­ke Angia­ma © Van­ley Burke
Vik­to­ria Walldin © Anders Bobert

Agora

Platz der Luft­brücke 5
Berlin, 12101
+ Google Map

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

The Living the City Symposium

Oktober 15  @ 18:00 20:00 CEST

Mit Sep­a­ke Angia­ma, Elma van Box­el (ZUS-Zones Urbaines Sen­si­bles), Tia­go Mota Sarai­va (ate­lier­mob), Vik­to­ria Walldin (White Arkitek­ter) und anderen. Mod­eriert von Lukas Feireiss und Tat­jana Schnei­der.

Ein Sym­po­sium mit Architek­tur- und Kun­stschaf­fend­en, Stadt­pla­nen­den, poli­tisch aktiv­en Men­schen und Men­schen aus der Poli­tik, Medi­en­schaf­fend­en, Philosophin­nen und Philosophen sowie Fach­forschen­den ver­tieft die inhaltliche Auseinan­der­set­zung mit Fra­gen zur europäis­chen Stad­ten­twick­lung.

Elma van Box­el und Kris­t­ian Kore­man grün­de­ten Zones Urbaines Sen­si­bles (ZUS). Sie entwick­eln bestellte und unbestellte Design- und Forschung­spro­jek­te in Architek­tur, Urban­is­mus und Land­schaft­sar­chitek­tur. ZUS tra­gen mit ihrer Begeis­terung für die öffentliche Rolle der Architek­tur zu ein­er sich wan­del­nden Stadt­land­schaft bei. Das Stu­dio wurde 2001 gegrün­det und beste­ht aus einem inter­na­tionalen, 25-köp­fi­gen, mul­ti­diszi­plinären Team mit Büros in Rot­ter­dam und New York. ZUS haben zahlre­iche nationale und inter­na­tionale Preise für ihre gren­züber­schre­i­t­en­den Arbeit­en gewon­nen.
zus.cc

Tia­go Mota Sarai­va ist Architekt und Stadt­plan­er, spezial­isiert auf Architek­tur, Ter­ri­to­ri­um und Erin­nerung. Er ist Teil von ate­lier­mob, ein­er mul­ti­diszi­plinären, 2005 in Liss­abon gegrün­de­ten Plat­tform, die an der Entwick­lung von Ideen, Forschun­gen und Pro­jek­ten in den Bere­ichen Architek­tur, Land­schaft­sar­chitek­tur, Design und Urban­is­mus arbeit­et. 2016 wurde die Koop­er­a­tive .Work­ing with the 99%. ins Leben gerufen, die Dien­stleis­tun­gen für die Architek­tur, soziale oder inter­ve­nierende Designs, Stadt­pla­nung, Pla­nungsstrate­gie, Koor­di­na­tion und Umset­zung von Pro­jek­ten sowie Train­ing anbi­etet. Über diese Plat­tform nehmen sie regelmäßig teil an ver­schiede­nen Foren und nationalen sowie inter­na­tionalen Net­zw­erken.
ateliermob.com

Sep­a­ke Angia­ma ist kün­st­lerische Lei­t­erin des insti­tute for inter­na­tion­al visu­al art (ini­va) in Lon­don. Das Haus beherbergt die Stu­art Hall Bib­lio­thek und wid­met sich der Unter­stützung des prak­tis­chen Durch­denkens und der Arbeit mit der Kom­plex­ität von ver­steck­ten und sicht­baren ver­strick­ten Geschicht­en, Päd­a­gogiken und Geo­gra­phien gegen­wär­tiger afrikanis­ch­er, Afro-karibis­ch­er, asi­atis­ch­er Dias­po­ra und indi­gen­er Prak­tiken. Das Pro­gramm reflek­tiert Künstler*innen, die sich sozialen und poli­tis­chen Ontolo­gien, Epis­te­molo­gien, Päd­a­gogiken und sub­al­ter­nen Nar­ra­tiv­en stellen. Angia­mas Prax­is stammt von der radikalen Päd­a­gogik, Schwarzem fem­i­nis­tis­chen Denken, dem Neu­denken des Ver­hält­niss­es men­schlich / nicht men­schlich und ver­ankert sich selb­st in der Frage, wie wir die Welt anders denken und bewohnen kön­nten. Zuvor war sie Ko-Kura­torin der drit­ten Aus­gabe der Chica­go­er Architek­tur Bien­nale, Päd­a­gogis­che Lei­t­erin der doc­u­men­ta 14 und der Man­i­fes­ta Euro­pean Bien­ni­al of Inter­na­tion­al Art. Sie ist Ini­tia­torin von Under the Man­go Tree, einem selb­stor­gan­isierten Zusam­menkom­men von Prak­tiken des Ver­ler­nens, dessen näch­ste Edi­tion 2022 in Puer­to Rico stat­tfind­en wird.

Vik­to­ria Walldin ist eine in Stock­holm ansäs­sige Anthro­polo­gin und Exper­tin für soziale Nach­haltigkeit bei White Arkitek­ter, ein­er inter­diszi­plinären Architek­tur­fir­ma, die 1951 in Göte­borg von dem Architek­ten Syd­ney White gegrün­det wurde. Sie arbeit­et an ein­er der am kom­plex­esten und faszinierend­sten architek­tonis­chen Auf­gaben: dem Umzug der Stadt Kiruna, Schwe­dens nördlich­ster Stadt. Die 20.000 Einwohner*innen wer­den zwang­sum­ge­siedelt, nach­dem der Erz­ab­bau gewaltige Risse im Grund und Boden der Stadt verur­sacht hat. Für sie ist der Umzug von Kiruna eine Chance, Teil eines der gewagtesten und radikalsten städtis­chen Pro­jek­te des Jahrhun­derts.
whitearkitekter.com

Elma van Boxel
Tia­go Mota Saraiva
Sep­a­ke Angia­ma © Van­ley Burke
Vik­to­ria Walldin © Anders Bobert

Agora

Platz der Luft­brücke 5
Berlin, 12101
+ Google Karte anzeigen